Pushcart Nomination Time

puschart-prize-nom

A great big thank you from me to Rum Punch Press who have nominated my story “Bruiser” for a Pushcart Prize.

You can read “Bruiser” – a heartwarming story about a lost boy and a stolen dog getting together to bond over a little lucha, right here.

There is a school of thought out there that one should never make much of nominations, only wins, but in this business – where we mostly work for praise – a nomination is always appreciated – and I appreciate it.

Factoid that may interest only me: I got the title from the Misfits song “Bruiser” because some  wrestler who I could remember specifically used to use that song as his “walk-out” song. That said I don’t reference the song at all in the story. In fact I listened more to Fear’s “I Don’t Care About You” obsessively while writing the story. It had the right “Tone.”  “I don’t Care About You” has been covered a thousand times, fairly ably by both GnR and (without profanity, apparently to please the BBC) Soundgarden.

I’m going to go listen to it now and you should too!

Steve

PS: Wish me luck – this is my second Pushie Nom (“All of the Words to All of the Songs” was nominated last year but didn’t make the cut) and it would be nice to see “Bruiser” make it into the anthology.

S

6 thoughts on “Pushcart Nomination Time

  1. Lori Hahnel

    Hey, nice work, Steve! Congrats, and maybe you could give a session at MRU on how to be nominated for a Pushcart Prize. I would attend!

Leave a Reply

