Five Fights

Five-Fights-522x580
I don’t know where Across the Margin gets their cover art from, but I like it. 

My short story “Five Fights” is up at Across the Margin today. You can read it Here.

This story is one of the few (maybe the only one) I’ve written from a writing prompt provided by another person. Mostly I write about shady deals with girls and the sublime terror of creation, and I do it on my own, because I have lots of materiel about the terror of creation and I can imagine lots about shady deals with girls even if I actually only know two or three in real-life because I’m originally from a tiny hamlet and am otherwise mostly a shut-in. However, in this case my youngest – who fancies himself a bit of a combo Clive Barker/Jim Thompson, (only gorier, much, much gorier,) – wanted me to write him a story about “a guy in high school who gets paid to collect drug debts.”

Spoiler: This story is in no way about a “a guy in high school who gets paid to collect drug debts.”

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the story. I’m off to take the kid to therapy and then, if therapy proves insufficient, the evangelicals have a revival tent at the county fair we’ll visit.

Stay Cool,

Steve

Leave a Reply

